This is How We Juice It!

Ladies and gentlemen,

I have begun a journey and I can’t say it is easy. After watching the documentary “Fat, Sick, and Nearly Dead”, a seed was planted deep in my… belly? You see, this documentary follows an Australian man as he loses over a hundred pounds in 60 days. How did he do this you ask? By juicing. That’s right, nothing but juiced fruits and vegetables for 60 days. I know what you’re thinking, what a nut job, right? Who only DRINKS fresh juice all day every day?! That’s absurd! I thought I could never do something like that and didn’t even want to try. However, after doing some research and thinking about my own weight struggle over the last few years, I thought what the heck? Why not? But I love food so much.

I’m gonna get deep on y’all for a minute. I have not been happy with my body in a couple of years now. When I went off to “university” in southern Alabama a couple of years ago, I was ready to party. And party I did. Staying up all night, drinking, Taco Bell at 4am. I was also more stressed about money than I had ever been up to that point (or since for that matter) and just did not handle things well. As a result I gained over 30 pounds in my first semester away. Fortunately, once I realized this, I was able to curb it and haven’t really gained anything since. That was fall of 2010 and I have had a terrible time trying to take it off. I have poly-cystic ovarian syndrome and it is very easy to gain weight and impossible to lose it. Oh yeah, I also love food.

So I’ve tried a little of everything: the HCG diet, regular dieting, exercising every day, the whole nine. But I found in exercising, I could only do it for a couple of days in a row before the pressure on my knees and shins made it nearly unbearable to walk. So I would take a couple of days off… which inevitably turned into a couple of weeks. And with dieting, I just don’t have the time or money to put into “good” “organic” foods all the time. Did I mention that I love food?

Alright, so I watched this stupid documentary and didn’t think anything of it again. Or so I thought. Here I am, almost a month later and I am on day 4 of my all juice cleanse. Yup, I guess that guy wormed his way into my brain somehow and made me think this was an awesome idea. And in reality, it is. I woke up this morning and weighed myself, as I’ve been doing every morning since I started this Monday. I have dropped a total of 6.2 pounds in three days of juicing!! I have also lost almost three inches all over! I feel like an infomercial right now, but seriously, I feel amazing! It really hasn’t been that hard as my life involves a lot of running around and distractions.

So enough with the persuasion. Check it out yourself, or don’t. Ask questions, or don’t. All I know is my “7 day experiment” is about to turn into a three week commitment and a life long dedication.

By the way, I would much rather drink my veggies than eat them so this week’s recipe is a vegetable juice and you can find all kinds of them on this website:http://www.all-about-juicing.com/.

This one is one Kale leaf, one green apple, one whole cucumber, and three stalks of celery.

photo

photo-1

Yummy looking, huh? I’m going to be honest with you, this was not the best tasting thing I have ever ingested, but boy did I feel amazing afterwards!

photo-2

This ^ is just a picture of all of the pulp leftover. It is just raw fruits and veggies no sweeteners or anything else. Probably starting next week I will start eating a small dinner of protein and juice for breakfast and lunch. Stay tuned to this incredible journey I am on!

2 thoughts on “This is How We Juice It!

    • You know, I really do. Sure there are times that my tummy starts growling, but that’s just because I am away from home all day so I can’t juice anytime I want. You can drink as much as you want during the day and it definitely fills you up for awhile.

Leave a Reply

