Red Velvet Cookies!

I’m only three blog posts in and I already have to apologize. I told you I would never post complicated recipes and they would be super simple and well… I found one I HAD to try and it was super amazing, so now I’m just a liar pants, but maybe you will forgive me. If there is one dessert in this world I could live off of, it would be red velvet cake. So as I was perusing Pinterest, I come across this gem: http://www.thatskinnychickcanbake.com/2012/10/red-velvet-white-chocolate-chunk-cookies-for-breast-cancer-awareness-2.html and I knew it was love at first sight. I forgot I was going to do a blog on this one so I don’t have a picture of the ingredients this time, but first I combined all of the flour, cocoa powder, cornstarch, baking soda and salt.

DSCN0625

Then in a separate bowl, beat butter, shortening and sugar and then added the egg and yolk like so

DSCN0626

Man I hate mixing eggs. The consistency looks yucky! But once that is totally mixed in there, I added vinegar, vanilla and food coloring. Slowly stir in the dry ingredients from the other bowl, and then mix in the chocolate chunks (I cheated and used white chocolate chips).

DSCN0627

At this point, being the incredible cook I am, I began testing my dough. And the tests were all positive. Very positive. I am still not sure how these babies actually made it to the baking stage!

DSCN0628

Now the recipe says to pop them in at 350 for 12-13 minutes. At a little over 12 I checked on them and they seemed really mushy still so I left them in for another two minutes or so and probably shouldn’t have

DSCN0630

The bottoms were a tad crisp. So when I put the other batch in, I did better

DSCN0629

Terrible picture, but I think the point is these cookies are supposed to be pretty soft. They are modeled after a cake, after all. I took them to one of my classes to share and I’m glad I kept a couple at home because before I knew it two dozen of them were gone! Super good, just a little overdone. (I have copy and pasted below from the original website. You can also use the link above to see her blog)

Red Velvet White Chocolate Chunk Cookies…adapted from Cooking Classy

2 1/4 cups all-purpose flour
2 1/2 tablespoons cocoa powder
1 1/2 teaspoons cornstarch
3/4 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoons  salt
8 tablespoons butter, at room temperature
5 tablespoons shortening
1 1/2 cups granulated sugar
1 egg
1 egg yolk
1 1/2 tablespoons white vinegar
1 1/2 teaspoons vanilla
1 tablespoons red food coloring
8 ounces white chocolate, chopped into chip sized pieces, divided

Preheat oven to 350º. Line cookie sheets with parchment paper and set aside.

In a mixing bowl, whisk together flour, cocoa powder, cornstarch, baking soda and salt, and set aside. In another bowl, beat butter, shortening and sugar till very pale and fluffy. Add egg and egg yolk and mix until combined. Add vinegar, vanilla and food coloring and mix until well blended. Slowly add in dry ingredients and mix just until combined. Carefully mix in 3/4 cup white chocolate chunks.

Scoop dough out by rounded tablespoonfuls and roll into balls and placeabout 2 inches apart on prepared cookie sheets. Gently press a few of the remaining chocolate chunks into the top of each cookie, then reshape dough into balls if necessary.

Bake for 12-13 minutes. Allow to cool several minutes before removing  to a wire rack to cool.

Makes about 2 1/2 dozen cookies.

Leave a Reply

